Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Cover Reveal: Music Box by Anya Allyn

Music Box (Dollhouse #4)

Release Date: Fall 2013

Naughty in Norway Spotlight


Naughty in Norway
Nordic Lights Series
Book One
Christine Edwards

Genre: Erotic Romance

Publisher: Fanny Press

Date of Publication: November 1, 2013

ISBN: 978-1603815420

Number of pages: 174
Word Count: 50,950

Cover Artist: Sabrina Sun

Saturday, November 23, 2013

Promo Blitz: The Reunion by A.A. Pencil


Knowing Vera Giveaway Open Worldwide

 photo b5368125-e548-4e1c-9f56-b9b43ab2cbff_zps8d7c9ac4.jpg

ONE LUCKY WINNER WILL WIN THEIR CHOICE OF 
$20 AMAZON / PAYPAL GIFTCARD
PLUS A PRINTED BOOK FROM RACHELLE AYALA
Ending on Sunday 8th December at 11.59pm EST
Open Worldwide !!

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Sanctuary Blog Tour

sanctuary tour banner

Book Tour: Red Dust by Ben Dixon and Sam Campbell


Book Blurb:

Red Dust is a series of zombie western short stories. 
Red Dust: The Fall is the first trilogy of short stories in the Red Dust series. These stories are The Lost Party, Feud and The Last Rider. 

The Lost Party 

When a party of settlers go missing on the Wasatch Mountains of 1846 America, a lone mountain man tasks himself with finding the lost pioneers. Upon the discovery of the remnants of a diary, George Masterson finds himself pulled into the dark story that befell the ill-fated travellers. 

Feud 

America 1853, seven years since the disappearance of the lost party, the undead have emerged from the wilderness crossing the Great Plains to assault the civilised world. Communication has broken down and settlements now stand alone as the Rising Plague spreads across the eastern border. 

In the town of Little Rock inhabitants of the New World thrive to create normality in the midst of chaos. With the arrival of a mysterious rider named Griffin, the true dangers of the town become clear. The illusion of civilisation quickly dissolves as Griffin’s appearance sparks the violent conclusion of a deep-rooted vendetta.
 
The Last Rider 

The Rising Plague continues to spread mercilessly across America, leaving the remnants of the US government to lead a desperate defence in defiance of the undead. Yet in the face of their doom, the beginnings of a civil tension arises, as the Southern State’s succeed, leaving a dire split across the US and its people hopelessly divided. 

Isaac, a young courier, volunteers himself to deliver a mysterious package for the Union military. His task will lead him deep into the heart of the unknown, through the decaying civilisation of a country that he can no longer call his home, as his eyes are opened to the horrors of the New World.

My review: 
★★★★☆


I completely lost myself in this book. The three stories are all set in the 1800s and involve zombies. What can be better than that? 

I admit that I was slightly confused by the ending of the first story. I think I understand what the authors were getting at, but kinda wish they had added either a little more explanation, or had it work out differently. 

Other than that, the three short stories were a treat to read. I really love the idea of zombie western stories and these were all very well written. The stories are very descriptive and the authors are very good with detail. I almost felt like I had watched a movie when I was finished reading the book because it was so clear in my mind. Once you start reading any one of these you will be hooked. I look forward to reading more by these writers.

I recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a good zombie read. Also to anyone that likes short stories that grab your attention and leave you feeling pleased with yourself for having read them. 
 
Read on for an excerpt. The authors' bios, and a giveaway. 

Enjoy!

Excerpt:
They would say that he came from across the sea.

The lone figure astride a horse emerged from the emptiness of the hot, dusty plains that expanded like a sea encompassing the solitary town of Little Rock. In the dying light of the evening sun, it was those who survived on the border of the settlement who witnessed the rider first. The poor and the sick, all victims of the time in which they lived, now stood transfixed, mouths agape and eyes wide as the stranger cantered through the slum like area of ragged tents and rotten cabins, oblivious to the absurdity of his arrival.  Even as he trotted right pass them, the borderland residents still believed he could have been a mirage, that their minds had finally betrayed their rationality in the madness of this new world. No one had come from the plains in months, and never before alone, it did not belong to the living anymore.

Upon passing through the fringe of the shanty town, the Stranger made his way down the central road, riding into the heart of Little Rock, passing the traffic of people as they closed shops and businesses before escaping to the false refuge of homes or the ignorant bliss of drinking holes.

Silently and furtively, he studied the canvas that opened up around him, mapping everything to detail in his head. The stranger knew what types of side arms the people carried. He could see from a man’s eyes who would fight, who would run, and who he would have to kill. He did not want to have these thoughts, not anymore, but they were innate, created by a nightmare of past experiences, fighting down in the mud and hell below.

Buy Links:



Ben Dixon and Sam Campbell are friends who met during University studying History. We have had a few different ideas including graphic novels and fantasy novels but the work we started with was Red Dust, a story of the Wild West plagued by zombies. In between working our regular jobs we try our best to write and publish.

Author Links



Giveaway:

Sam and Ben are giving away a $10 Amazon Gift Card. Open internationally. The giveaway starts 11/13/13 at 12 am eastern time and runs through 12 am eastern time 11/21/13.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclaimer: I received a free ebook copy for review purposes. Regardless, all opinions are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.

Cover Reveal: Finding Joy by Jenni Moen

Remembering Joy
Release Date: 12/13/13

Review: Santa's Cookie Elf




Santa's Cookie Elf
Richard Thomas Parrette Jr

High Hopes Publishing
Bookmasters, Inc

Pub Date   Aug 21 2013

Description

Christmas is a magical time of the year. Santa’s toy factory builds a lot of toys for children all over the world. His flying reindeer help him deliver all those toys in one night and at every house the kids leave Santa their favorite cookies. WOW! That has to be millions and millions of cookies. Now if Elves help build the toys, and flying reindeer get Santa to every house in one night, ever wonder if someone helps him eat all those cookies?

My Review: 
★★★★☆


I really enjoyed reading the story of Santa's Cookie Elf. It is a cute and fun story for all ages. I think children will love discovering that Santa has an elf that helps him eat all the Christmas cookies. I think parents will enjoy the story and the hilarious cookie recipes that are included in the back of the book. The illustrations are cute and are perfect for the Christmas tale.

I recommend this book for children that love Christmas and parents that do as well.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of the ebook free for review purposes. Regardless all opinions are my own. I was not required to write a review.


Release Day Blitz: Firebolt by Adrienne Woods




Saturday, November 16, 2013

Book Blitz: Dark Musicals Trilogy by Laura DeLuca



  

Summary from Goodreads:
The “Phantom” was a musical phenomenon that Rebecca had always found enchanting. She had no idea that her life was about to mirror the play that was her obsession. When her high school drama club chooses “Phantom” as their annual production, Rebecca finds herself in the middle of an unlikely love triangle and the target of a sadistic stalker who uses the lines from the play as their calling card.

Rebecca lands the lead role of Christine, the opera diva, and like her character, she is torn between her two co-stars—Tom the surfer and basketball star who plays the lovable hero, and Justyn, the strangely appealing Goth who is more than realistic in the role of the tortured artist.

Almost immediately after casting, strange things start to happen both on and off the stage. Curtains fall. Mirrors are shattered. People are hurt in true phantom style. They all seem like accidents until Rebecca receives notes and phone calls that hint at something more sinister. Is Justyn bringing to life the twisted character of the phantom? Or in real life are the roles of the hero and the villain reversed? Rebecca doesn’t know who to trust, but she knows she’s running out of time as she gets closer and closer to opening night. Only when the mask is stripped away, will the twenty first century phantom finally be revealed.




Summary from Goodreads:
When Justyn and Rebecca set off to attend the New York School of Performing Arts, they think their dreams are about to come true. To their dismay, they aren’t in high school anymore, and the competition is steep. Rebecca must compete against accomplished singers for a role in the production of Demon Barber, including a stunning Gothic diva with her sights set on Justyn.

It doesn't help that things keep disappearing from their apartment or that Rebecca's father refuses to accept that Justyn is an essential part of her life. Yet, all this seems minimal in comparison to the serial rapist terrorizing the campus.

Consumed by fear and obsessed with revenge, Rebecca and Justyn start living the story of Sweeney Todd—both on and off the stage.





Summary from Goodreads:
Rebecca Hope has looked death in the face twice and lived to tell her tale.

She and the love of her life, Justyn Patko, land a summer internship at a local dinner theater, performing the musical Hyde. While they are excited about their first paid acting gig, they soon find themselves surrounded by more experienced cast mates, jealous of their success. As if the tension isn’t bad enough, they soon discover that the business might be a front for something much more sinister.

When Justyn is accused of a crime that she knows he would never commit, Rebecca must decide if she wants to follow her head or her heart. While trying to prove his innocence, she makes a shocking discovery of her own.

Everyone has something to conceal in the grand finale of the Dark Musicals Trilogy. Rebecca has to look beyond the fa├žade to discover the true Hyde or face her final curtain call.





About the Author
Laura "Luna" DeLuca lives at the beautiful Jersey shore with her husband and three children. She has been writing stories for as long as she can remember. Old high school friends would tell you she was always scratching in her notebook instead of paying attention in class and the children she used to babysit for always loved to hear her scary stories at bedtime. In addition to writing fiction, Laura is also the sole author of a popular review blog called New Age Mama. She is an active member of her local pagan community, and has been studying Wicca for close to eight years.

Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png

***GIVEAWAY***
Geode, incense, gothic bracelet, gothic keychain, sterling silver pentacle charm, mini Buddha figurine, lavender purification bath salts, natural stone pendant and two rough crystal points. Open to US only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Book Blitz hosted by: