Monday, January 20, 2014

NBTM Review Tour: Courtlight Series by Terah Edun

The author will award a $25 Amazon or BN Giftcard + Swag Pack of Bookmarks, Posters & Magnets to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour.

The Courtlight Series:
Sworn To Raise, Sworn To Transfer, Sworn To Conflict
by Terah Edun


Book One: Sworn to Raise

Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the empire. But beneath her empire’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.

Book Two: Sworn to Transfer

Eighteen-year-old companion trainee Ciardis Weathervane has won the friendship of the royal heir and saved his claim to the throne. Yet her interference in the inheritance rights leaves more harm done than good. The Ameles Forest lies unprotected and its inhabitants are dying.

As humans begin to die in gruesome deaths, the Emperor dispatches the royal heir to the forests with the solution to the kith concerns.

With enemies closing ranks in Sandrin, Ciardis can little afford to leave the city’s nest of vipers to take on a new task. But she’s given no choice when her loyalty to the crown and courts are called into question.
To keep the Companions’ Guild happy and the favor of the Imperial Court, Ciardis will be tested in frightening new ways, especially when she’s faced with an obstacle that could risk the lives of her friends and the family she never thought she had.

This second novel continues the story of Ciardis Weathervane from Sworn To Raise.

Book Three: Sworn to Conflict

Ciardis Weathervane fought for the living dead and won. But worse than taking on a mass murderer, was her discovery that she had been deceived by her friends. Now she needs to not only fight a war in the North and survive, but also decide where she stands in the midst of competing sides.

A threat to all she holds dear lies in the North and her heart is not the only thing she might lose. A massive army awaits in the mountain pass, surging closer to the gates of the southern lands. Nothing the Algardis army has done so far has dissuaded their march forward and Ciardis finds out that her powers to enhance are needed now more than ever.

As she faces her greatest fears on the battlefields and her heart is torn between her love of Sebastian and loyalty to her family, Ciardis must choose her fate carefully. For in her path, lies the destiny of the empire.

This third novel continues the story of Ciardis Weathervane from Sworn To Transfer.


Sworn To Raise Excerpt (Book One)

She ruffled her wings in the same way a human would shake their shoulders to brush off a weird feeling, “There’s some bad things in this maze. Once I barely escape from a chimera hiding in the shadows." Samantha rubbed her stiff shoulders, wincing.

Think you can make a fewer more miles?” Ciardis asked, “The maze end can’t be too far off.”

"I could but it’ll take too long - my wind strength and flight ability are tied to my mage power. The stronger my reserve of power, the higher, the longer, and the faster I can fly,” Samantha explained.

Ciardis took a swig of water herself. "Tell you what: I'll help you fly, and you can get us to the end of the maze."

Samantha eyed her curiously. "What do you mean?"

"I mean if you can carry me, I can give you the mage power necessary to fly us both. That's my talent: I enhance other mage talents."

Samantha decided that at this point, she didn't have much to lose. "All right, let's do this," Samantha said. "You're as tall as I am, so carrying you in my arms is out. You'll have to hop on my back." At Ciardis's raised eyebrow, Samantha said, "It'll be an awkward flight, but it’s the only way it’s work – unless you have an expanding basket in your backpack and can enhance without physical contact.


My Review:

I really enjoy this series so far. I can't wait to read the fourth book! The characters are all well developed, the world is complex and well thought out, and the descriptions pull me into the book. It is like watching a movie instead of reading. 

I love the character of Ciardis. She is a kick butt character that is constantly having to re-evaluate her life and figure out who she can or cannot trust. There seems to be a lot of lies and backstabbing going on in this series, which always makes for good reading.

I love how the story is progressing. The characters are growing and the books just keep getting better. I find myself caring for the characters and feeling very emotional over what happens to them. I really enjoy having a series at hand that is written so well that it really engages me.

I would recommend reading these in order. If you jump into one of the later books, then you might be confused as to what is happening at first. If you like High Fantasy with magic, action, intrigue, backstabbing, and great characters, then you will enjoy this series.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Terah Edun is a young adult fantasy writer born and raised in the Atlanta metropolitan area, who transplanted to the Northeast region for college, and has spent years living abroad in South Sudan and Morocco. She writes the stories that she always loved to read as a young girl.

Connect with Terah: 

Author Site:

Terah_EdunSeries Order Links:

Sworn To Raise (Book One)

Sworn To Transfer (Book Two)


  1. Thanks for reading and reviewing all three books Amanda! Glad you thought the high fantasy series was great. :)


Thank you for your comment. It is very important to me. Know that while I might not reply directly to your comment every time, I certainly read it and appreciate it.